Jilly D.

Merry Christmas 2011

In Holidays on December 25, 2011 at 2:39 pm

This is my third Christmas without Sam. I don’t remember the first and the second year found me so blue I sought the support from a “how to survive the holidays” just get through the holidays. Then in my bleakest midwinter I broke my right wrist. It couldn’t get any worse, so it’s got to be better this Yuletide.

This year I gathered with Sam’s family on Christmas Eve afternoon at his sister Judy’s. It snowed overnight and at 7 a.m. the dogs and I made fresh prints in the first rays of Christmas sunshine. This morning I baked breakfast casserole and had a piece of my Danish Kringle; an almond flavored pastry I whipped together yesterday afternoon. UPS delivered wrapped gifts from Minnesota, and to my delight my niece Emma Kay sent me an exquisite bracelet she hand-beaded herself. And my nephew, Ben, a hand drawn self-portrait in a nice frame.

This third year I just let the holidays get ahead of me and stopped trying to be Mrs. Claus. Smile more, expect less.

It’s working for me. Enjoy this special times of memories and dreams. I took my holiday nostalgia by watching a classic film: an old black and white movie made in 1947 called “The Bells of St. Mary’s” starring Ingrid Bergman and Bing Crosby. At the school nativity pageant first graders performed their first grade comic version of the story of Joseph and Mary giving birth to baby Jesus in a manger. Instead of another carol by Bing, the sounds of children singing “Happy Birthday” Jesus Christ is the real showstopper.

Whose birthday is it?

Sam used to ask me that question every year as the rush of the holiday stressed me out. Scrooge he could play to the Santa frenzy.  The Hostess fruitcake he bought me that first year got frozen year after year as we gifted it back and forth between each other.

The only gift that matters is love. That’s the good news in the old story. Merry merry.

  1. Great reminder of what’s important. Merry Christmas, Jill!

Leave a Reply

